Prince Louis II

Duke of Royan from 1866 to 1913

Biography

H.H. Prince Louis II was born on November 29, 1836 in Belgium, he is the first child of the ducal couple, Their Highnesses Prince Germain and Princess Louise-Caroline.

From 1860, he enlisted in the French Navy. During the Franco-Prussian War of 1870, he took part in the brief combat between the Aviso Bouvet and the Prussian ship Meteor which took place off Havana. The Duke is slightly injured and later returns to Europe.

The Prince married Princess Charlotte-Émilie Angéline de Limbourg on January 24, 1879. The couple had four children : Prince Charles (1880-1883), Prince Arthur, Princess Anne-Catherine (1885-1985) and Princess Anastasie (1887-1971).

Accused of infidelity by his wife, the couple separated at the beginning of 1899. The Duke then left to settle in England, abandoning his prerogatives to his son, he would never see his wife and children again. It is by a telegram from the British Royal Family that the Ducal House will learn of the death of the Duke of Royan.

It was in England that Prince Arthur breathed his last on May 1, 1913 at the age of 76.

Prince Louis II

Duc de Royan de 1866 à 1913


Biographie

Son Altesse le Prince Louis II est né le 29 novembre 1836 en Belgique, il est le premier enfant du couple ducal, Leurs Altesses le Prince Germain et la Princesse Louise-Caroline.

Dès 1860, il s'engage dans la marine française. Lors de la guerre franco-prussienne de 1870, il participe au bref combat entre l'Aviso Bouvet et le navire prussien Meteor qui se déroule au large de La Havane. Le Duc est légèrement blessé et rentre en Europe par la suite.


Le Prince épouse la Princesse Charlotte-Émilie Angéline de Limbourg le 24 janvier 1879. Le couple à quatre enfants : le Prince Charles (1880-1883), le Prince Arthur, la Princesse Anne-Catherine (1885-1985) et la Princesse Anastasie (1887-1971).

Accusé d'infidélité par sa femme, le couple se sépare début 1899. Le Duc part alors s'installer en Angleterre, abandonnant ses prérogatives à son fils, il ne reverra plus jamais sa femme et ses enfants. C'est par un télégramme de la Famille Royale britannique que la Maison Ducale va apprendre le décès du Duc de Royan.

C'est en Angleterre que le Prince Arthur rendit son dernier soupir le 1er mai 1913 à l'âge de 76 ans.