Prince Germain

Duke of Royan from 1789 to 1853

Biography

His Highness Prince Germain Henri was born on September 24, 1779, he is the son of Prince Pierre and Anne Landrey. In 1789, he succeeded at the age of 10 to his grandfather, Prince Louis, as Duke of Royan.

Young during the French Revolution, he nevertheless remained loyal to the royal family and supported Louis XVI. However, with the establishment of the empire by Napoleon, he chose to take refuge in England with his family.

In 1800, he married Angélique de Courtenay (1779-1834) and they had three children: Prince Germain, future Duke of Royan, Princess Marie (1808-1884) who was for a time heiress presumptive to Royan, and Princess Marie- Anne (1810-1819).

In 1815, with the restoration of the monarchy and the coming to power of Louis XVIII, the ducal family returned to France. Nine years later with the agreement of the King, he created the House of Royan, formalized by the deliberation of the letters patent.

But with the establishment of the empire by Napoleon III, following a coup d'etat in 1851, the Duke and his children again chose to settle in London. Prince Germain died there on July 25, 1853.

Prince Germain

Duc de Royan de 1789 à 1853

Biographie

Son Altesse le Prince Germain Henri est né le 24 septembre 1779, il est le fils du Prince Pierre et d'Anne Landrey. En 1789, il succède à l'âge de 10 ans à son grand-père, le Prince Louis, en tant que Duc de Royan.

Jeune pendant la Révolution française, il reste néanmoins fidèle à la famille royale et soutient Louis XVI. Cependant, avec l'établissement de l'empire par Napoléon, il choisit de se réfugier en Angleterre avec sa famille.

En 1800, il épousa Angélique de Courtenay (1779-1834) et ils eurent trois enfants : le Prince Germain, futur duc de Royan, la Princesse Marie (1808-1884) qui fut un temps héritière présomptive de Royan, et la Princesse Marie-Anne (1810-1819).

En 1815, avec la restauration de la monarchie et l'arrivée au pouvoir de Louis XVIII, la famille ducale revient en France. Neuf ans plus tard avec l'accord du Roi, il crée la Maison de Royan, officialisée par la délibération des lettres patentes.

Mais avec la mise en place de l'empire par Napoléon III, à la suite d'un coup d'État, en 1851, le Duc et ses enfants choisissent à nouveau de s'installer à Londres. Le Prince Germain y mourut le 25 juillet 1853.