Prince André

Duke of Royan from 1946 to 1983

Biography

Prince André Arthur Germain Philippe Marie was born on June 12, 1914 in Luxembourg (Grand Duchy of Luxembourg). He is the second child of the ducal couple, Their Highnesses Prince Arthur and Princess Anne-Marie.

During World War I, the ducal family took refuge in the Netherlands, just a day before the German invasion of Luxembourg. His father, Prince Arthur, then Duke of Royan for a year, is the only one not to return to the Netherlands since he must do his duty by fighting under the French colors. Princess Anne-Marie and her children returned to Luxembourg and then to France in 1919.

On May 14, 1938, Prince André married Princess Delphine. But the Second World War broke out in 1939, the Prince was then called up and mobilized as an officer in the infantry. At the end of May 1940, he was taken prisoner in the Dunkirk pocket and was one of the volunteers who defended and protected from the enemy the Allied re-embarkation in England by the English troops and part of the French army.

Incarcerated in an oflag, he was released with special authorization from the German authorities in March 1943 and joined France still under Nazi occupation.

The couple then became parents of four children : Princess Amélie (1943), Princess Marie (1943), Princess Rosalie (1945) and Prince Jean.

In 1946, Prince André became Duke of Royan following the death of his father. Five years later, he took part in the new bilateral relationship between the Federal Republic of Germany and France. This diplomatic mission enabled the Prince to meet personally on numerous occasions with the President of the French Republic at the time, Mr. Vincent Auriol. After having been able to participate in numerous diplomatic missions of France abroad, Prince André retired from public life in the 1970s to make way for his son, Prince Jean, while retaining his title.

The Duke of Royan died on July 19, 1983 in Luxembourg (Grand Duchy of Luxembourg).

Prince André

Duc de Royan de 1946 à 1983

Biographie

Son Altesse le Prince André Arthur Germain Philippe Marie est né le 12 juin 1914 à Luxembourg (Grand-Duché de Luxembourg). Il est le second enfant du couple ducal, Leurs Altesses le Prince Arthur et la Princesse Anne-Marie.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, la famille Ducale se réfugie aux Pays-Bas, seulement un jour avant l'invasion allemande du Luxembourg. Son père, le Prince Arthur alors Duc de Royan depuis un an, est le seul à ne pas regagner la capitale néerlandaise puisqu'il doit faire son devoir en combattant sous les couleurs françaises. La Princesse Anne-Marie et ses enfants retournent au Luxembourg puis en France en 1919.

Le 14 mai 1938, le Prince André épouse la Princesse Delphine. Mais la Seconde Guerre mondiale éclate en 1939, le Prince est alors appelé et mobilisé comme officier dans l'infanterie. Fin mai 1940, il est fait prisonnier dans la poche de Dunkerque et fait partie des volontaires qui ont défendu et protégé de l'ennemi le rembarquement allié en Angleterre par les troupes anglaises et une partie de l'armée française.

Incarcéré dans un oflag, il est libéré sur autorisation spéciale des autorités allemandes en mars 1943 et rejoint la France encore sous occupation nazie.

Le couple devient ensuite parents de quatre enfants : la Princesse Amélie (1943), la Princesse Marie (1943), la Princesse Rosalie (1945) et le Prince Jean.

En 1946, le Prince André devient Duc de Royan suite au décès de son père. Cinq ans plus tard, il participe à la nouvelle relation bilatérale entre la République fédérale d'Allemagne et la France. Cette mission diplomatique a permis au Prince de rencontrer personnellement à de nombreuses reprises le Président de la République française de l'époque, M. Vincent Auriol. Après avoir pu participer à diverses missions diplomatiques de la France à l'étranger, le Prince André se retire de la vie publique dans les années 70 pour laisser place à son fils, le Prince Jean, tout en conservant son titre.

Le Duc de Royan meurt le 19 juillet 1983 à Luxembourg (Grand-Duché de Luxembourg).