Prince Arthur

Duke of Royan from 1913 to 1946

Biography

Prince Arthur Germain Philippe Charles Marie was born on February 8, 1881 at the Château de Laeken in Brussels (Kingdom of Belgium). He is the first child of Their Highnesses Prince Louis and Princess Angéline.

After his first two years spent in Belgium, he spent the rest of his childhood with the Grand Ducal family of Luxembourg. In addition to French, from an early age, the Prince learned to express himself in English, German, Dutch and Luxembourgish.

The Prince married Princess Anne-Marie on June 14, 1912 in Luxembourg. The couple has five children: Prince André, Prince Philippe (1919-2002), Princess Marie-Angéline (1920-1993), Princess Marie-Sophie (1923) and Prince Wilhelm (1927).

He inherited the title of Duke of Royan on the death of his father in 1913.

His Highness Prince Arthur is militarily mobilized by France during the First World War. His family then in Luxembourg took refuge in the Netherlands, just one day before the German invasion of the Grand Duchy. On March 10, 1916, the Duke of Royan was seriously injured in the left leg during the Battle of Verdun, during an attack by the German army. Following multiple operations, Prince Arthur avoided having his leg amputated and after several months of rehabilitation in Parisian hospitals, the Prince was able to regain partial motor function in his left leg with the help of a cane. Due to his physical condition, the Duke will not find his brothers in arms at the front, but will be assigned to the rear at the general staff as an officer in charge of inter-allied relations. On November 11, 1918, when the armistice was signed, Prince Arthur was present in the Rethondes clearing.

The following year, demobilized from all military obligations and decorated with the Croix de Guerre, the Prince returned to his family in the Grand Duchy. From 1921, he became adviser to Grand Duchess Charlotte of Luxembourg. During the interwar period, His Highness diplomatically represented Luxembourg on numerous occasions in Switzerland and Italy.

In January 1940, Europe being at war, Prince Arthur asked his cousin Her Majesty Queen Wilhelmina of the Netherlands to transfer the archives of his family located in France and Luxembourg to The Hague. One part is kept in the National Archives of Luxembourg and another in the French National Archives. The Queen of the Netherlands in a letter of March 11, 1940 agrees to receive the archives of the Duke's family on Dutch territory. After hesitating, His Highness finally decided, with the agreement of the Swiss authorities, to have the ducal archives transferred to Switzerland. The transfer takes place the week of April 15 from Paris and a week later for the archives stationed in Luxembourg. Since 1940, the archives of the Ducale family have been kept in Switzerland.

During the occupation, Prince Arthur shared his life between France and Luxembourg. He worked unsuccessfully for the release of his sons who were prisoners of war in Germany. Prince André will be released in 1943 and Prince Philippe the following year.

Prince Arthur died on November 16, 1946 in Luxembourg (Grand Duchy of Luxembourg).

Prince Arthur

Duc de Royan de 1913 à 1946

Biographie

Son Altesse le Prince Arthur Germain Philippe Charles Marie est né le 08 février 1881 au Château de Laeken à Bruxelles (Royaume de Belgique). Il est le premier enfant de Leurs Altesses le Prince Louis et la Princesse Angéline.

Après ses deux premières années passées en Belgique, il passe le reste de son enfance auprès de la famille grand-ducale du Luxembourg. En plus du français, dès son plus jeune âge, le Prince apprend à s'exprimer en anglais, allemand, néerlandais et luxembourgeois.


Le Prince épouse la Princesse Anne-Marie le 14 juin 1912 à Luxembourg. Le couple à cinq enfants : le Prince André, le Prince Philippe (1919-2002), la Princesse Marie-Angéline (1920-1993), la Princesse Marie-Sophie (1923) et le Prince Wilhelm (1927).

Il hérite du titre de Duc de Royan à la mort de son père en 1913.

Son Altesse le Prince Arthur est mobilisé militairement par la France pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Sa famille alors au Luxembourg se réfugie aux Pays-Bas, un jour seulement avant l'invasion allemande du Grand-Duché. Le 10 mars 1916, le Duc de Royan est blessé gravement à la jambe gauche, lors de la bataille de Verdun, durant un assaut de l'armée allemande. Suite à de multiples opérations, le Prince Arthur évite l'amputation de sa jambe et après plusieurs mois de rééducation dans les hôpitaux parisiens, le Prince peut retrouver une motricité partielle de sa jambe gauche à l'aide d'une canne. En raison de son état physique, le Duc ne retrouvera pas ses frères d'armes au front, mais sera affecté à l'arrière à l'état-major en tant qu'officier chargé des relations interalliées. Le 11 novembre 1918, lors de la signature de l'armistice, le Prince Arthur était présent dans la clairière de Rethondes.


L'année suivante, démobilisé de toutes obligations militaire et décoré de la croix de guerre, le Prince retrouve sa famille au Grand-Duché. À partir de 1921, il devient conseiller de la Grande-duchesse Charlotte de Luxembourg. Durant l'entre-deux-guerres, Son Altesse représenta diplomatiquement le Luxembourg à de nombreuses reprises en Suisse et en Italie.

En janvier 1940, l'Europe étant en guerre, le Prince Arthur demande à sa cousine Sa Majesté la Reine Wilhelmine des Pays-Bas le transfert des archives de sa famille situées en France et au Luxembourg vers La Haye. Une partie étant conservée aux Archives nationales du Luxembourg et une autre aux Archives nationales françaises. La Reine des Pays-Bas dans une lettre du 11 mars 1940 accepte de recevoir les archives de la famille du duc sur le territoire néerlandais. Après avoir hésité, Son Altesse décide finalement, avec l'accord des autorités helvétiques, de faire transférer les archives ducales en Suisse. Le transfert a lieu la semaine du 15 avril au départ de Paris et une semaine plus tard pour les archives stationnées à Luxembourg. Depuis 1940, les archives de la famille Ducale sont conservées en Suisse.

Pendant l'occupation, le Prince Arthur partage sa vie entre la France et le Luxembourg. Il œuvra sans succès pour la libération de ses fils qui étaient prisonniers de guerre en Allemagne. Le Prince André sera libéré en 1943 et le Prince Philippe l'année suivante.

Le Prince Arthur décède le 16 novembre 1946 à Luxembourg (Grand-Duché de Luxembourg).